Second GEM&L Webinar

Recontextualization and the Semiosis of Meaning: Limitations of Agency

October 29, 2020. 3 pm GMT|4pm CET| 11am EDT| 8am PDT

For the second GEM&L webinar on language in international business, kindly hosted by the School of Management at the University of Bradford on , we are delighted to welcome Professor Mary Yoko Brannen. To register, please click HERE, or go to https://register.gotowebinar.com/register/5010681605451926031 .

Prof. Mary Yoko Brannen MBA, PhD, Dr.Merc. H.C.

Mary Yoko Brannen is currently Honorary Professor of International Business at the Copenhagen Business School (CBS), Denmark on leave from the University of Victoria, BC, Canada and Professor Emerita from San Jose State University, California, U.S.A. She was appointed Fellow of the Academy of International Business in 2016 having served as Deputy Editor of the Journal of International Business Studies for two consecutive elected terms (20011-2016). She received an Honorary Doctorate from the CBS in March 2016 and currently sits on the International Advisory Boards of BI Norwegian Business School and Stockholm School of Economics. She received her M.B.A. with emphasis in International Business and Ph.D. in Organizational Behavior/ Cultural Anthropology from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and a B.A. in Comparative Literature from the University of California at Berkeley. She has taught at the Ross School of Business at the University of Michigan, Smith College, San Jose State University and Stanford University in the United States; INSEAD in France, Keio Business School in Tokyo, Japan, and Fudan University in China. Professor Brannen’s expertise in multinational affairs is evident in her research, consulting, teaching, and personal background. Born and raised in Japan, having studied in the US, France and Spain, and having worked as a cross-cultural consultant for over 40 years to various Fortune 100 companies she brings a multi-faceted, deep knowledge of today’s complex cultural business environment.